Keynote Speakers

Prof. Alessandro Croce

Politecnicodi Milano – Italy

Alessandro Croce is Associate Professor of Flight Mechanics at the Department of Aerospace Science and Technology of the Politecnico di Milano. Prof. Croce works in the area of multibody-aero-servo-elastic modeling and simulation of rotorcraft systems and wind turbines, vehiclesflight mechanics, control theory. His areas of expertise also include wind turbine design, multidisciplinary optimization of rotor systems and wind tunnel testing. On these topics, he has co-authored about 100 publications in peer-reviewed international journal papers, book chapters and conference proceedings. He is representative of Politecnico di Milano within the European Academy of Wind Energy (EAWE), associate editor of the Wind Energy Science journal andhe is coordinating the POLI-Wind Laboratory (the wind energy laboratory within the Aerospace Department). In 2018 he has been Chairman of the International Conference The Science of Making Torque from Wind (TORQUE2018).

Prof. Alvaro Toubes Prata

Federal University of Santa Catarina – Brazil

Alvaro ToubesPrata is a Full Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC), where he has been teaching, leading research and coordinating projects for 42 years. With important contributions tothe fields of heat transfer and fluid mechanics, he is recipient of the CNPq Researcher 1A grant since 1992.He served the Federal University of Santa Catarina as the Vice-President for research and graduate education (2000-2004) and as its President (2008-2012). He was the National Secretary for Technological Development an Innovation (2012-2014 and 2016-2018), the National Secretary for Policies and Programs of Research and Development (2018) and Vice-Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation(2014-2015). He is a full member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences, and of the National Academy of Engineering. He hasreceived the Anisio Teixeira Education Award on the 60th anniversary of the Brazilian Agency for Higher Education, CAPES, in recognition for his outstanding contribution to the development of Educational Institutions, Science and Technology in Brazil, through teaching, research and institutional leadership.For his outstanding contributions to science, Alvaro Prata was recognized with the Commendation of the National Order of Scientific Merit – Grand Cross Class.

Prof. Edgar Mamiya

University of Brasilia – Brazil

Prof. Edgar Mamiya graduated in Mechanical Engineering in 1978 from the São Carlos School of Engineering of the University of São Paulo, EESC-USP,  and received his PhD in Mechanical Engineering in 1987 from the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, PUC-Rio. He is Full Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the University of Brasília, UnB,  and served UnB as its Vice-President from 2005 to 2008. He is recipient of the CNPq Senior Research grant. His areas of interest include Multiaxial Metal Fatigue and Nonlinear Behavior of Materials (Damage and Shape Memory). He has contributed to the Brazilian Association of Engineering and Mechanical Sciences, ABCM, as member of its Deliberative Council since 1999, and as member of the Technical Committee of Solid Mechanics since 2015. He was Associate Editor of the Journal of the Brazilian Society of Mechanical Science and Engineering from 2000 to 2005. Currently, he is serving as Accreditation and Evaluation Coordinator at the  Brazilian Agency for Higher Education, CAPES, in the areas of Mechanical, Industrial, Aerospace, Ocean and Naval Engineering.

Prof. Pedro Jorge Coelho

University of Lisbon – Portugal

Prof. Pedro Jorge Coelhograduated in Mechanical Engineering in 1984 and received his Ph.D. in 1992 from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), University of Lisbon, Portugal. He is professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering of IST, being currently the head of the Department. He has about 90 papers published in international journals, and more than 100 papers presented at international conferences. He is co-author of a book on Combustion (in Portuguese) for undergraduate and master students. His research is in the field of numerical simulation of heat transfer and combustion problems. Specific areas of interest are radiation models, gas radiative properties, turbulence-radiation interaction, turbulent diffusion flames, mild combustion and industrial combustion equipment. He is member of the Eurotherm Committee for the Advancement of Thermal Sciences and Heat Transfer, member of the Scientific Council, Assembly and Executive Committee of the International Centre of Heat and Mass Transfer, member of the Assembly for International Heat Transfer Conferences and member of the Assembly of the World Conference (AWC) on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics, and Thermodynamics. He is associate editor of the J. Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer, Int. J. Thermal Sciences, and member of the advisory board of Computational Thermal Sciences.

Prof. Satish Kandlikar

Rochester Institute of Technology – USA

Prof. SatishKandlikar is the Gleason Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Rochester Institute of Technology. His research is mainly focused in the area of flow boiling. After investigating the flow boiling phenomena from an empirical standpoint, which resulted in widely accepted correlations for different geometries, he started to look at the problem from a fundamental perspective. Using the high speed photography techniques, he demonstrated that small bubbles are released at a high frequency under flow conditions. His current work involves developing ultra-high performance pool and flow boiling heat transfer surfaces, stabilizing flow boiling in microchannels, interface mechanics during rapid evaporation, and advanced chip cooling with single-phase liquid flow. He has published over 200 journal and conference papers. He is a fellow member of ASME and has been the organizer of the two international conferences on Microchannels and Minichannels sponsored by ASME. Dr. Kandlikar founded the ASME Heat Transfer chapter in Rochester and founded and served as the first Chairman of the E-cubed fair – science and engineering fair for middle school students in celebration of the Engineers Week. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the Eisenhart Award for Outstanding and Trustees Scholarship Award – both from RIT, Engineer of the Year Award from Rochester Engineering Society, and Heat Transfer Memorial Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.